2009 Athletic Hall of Fame

The Athletic Hall of Fame
The following individuals – and one team! - were inducted into the 2009 Columbia College Athletic Hall of Fame on Oct. 9.

The class of 2009 consists of:

1998 Women's Volleyball Team
The NAIA 1998 Women’s Volleyball National Championship team. Considered one of the best teams to ever play volleyball, the 1998 team had a perfect season of 45-0. They would repeat the feat in 1999.

Jayne Miller
Jayne Miller, softball pitcher, 2000-2003, twice named NAIA First Team All-America and AMC Player of the Year. Miller was just the fourth Cougar in program history to earn first team accolades. In 30 appearances in 2002, Miller had a phenomenal 0.60 ERA. Miller is tied for the single-game strikeout record of 17.

Kjell Einar Teien
Kjell Einar Teien, soccer, 1999-2002, one of the greatest impact players Columbia College has ever seen. Teien started all 89 games during his career, moving from defender to midfielder, earning first team all-conference and all-region in each of his four seasons. He died of cancer in 2007.

Missy Wilt
Missy Wilt, women’s basketball, 2001 to 2003. Named 2001-02 AMC First Team, MVP and Newcomer of the Year, Wilt ended her Columbia College career with an amazing 1117 points, 207 assists and 140 steals. Missy also was an NAIA honorable mention All American.

Read more detailed bios of the class of 2009.

The Columbia College Athletic Hall of Fame was founded to recognize individuals or teams who have made a significant contribution to Columbia College Athletics. Class of 2008 inductees were Natalie Buitink ‘00, softball; Michael Kiehne ‘94, basketball; Gene and Fran Koepke, supporters; and Lawrence “Smiley” Thomas ‘00, basketball.